Mountain Dew in the Past

I was lying in the hospital bed getting I.V. after I.V. pumped into me due to severe dehydration. I could remember myself thinking I need to drink more water instead of all the coffee and Mountain Dew I drink. However, I only starting drinking a little bit more water, not enough to keep me hydrated how I should. I would tell people, “I drink water! It’s in my coffee at least.” I have always prided myself on teaching my kids to drink water and no soda but I didn’t lead by example very well.

I’ve made several attempts to get off soda, especially Mountain Dew since studies show it is the worst soda to drink, but the attempts were short-lived except when I was pregnant. Along came the migraines, feeling nauseous having withdrawals from caffeine and the cravings to want another soda. Coffee was never addicting to me but I have drank so much coffee it doesn’t give me the energy affect anymore, it just tastes delicious.

Two Successful Attempts

1. My husband and I made a conscious decision to lose weight and start our path on changing our diet. Surprisingly I didn’t have my migraines, feelings of nauseousness or cravings because I switched to drinking my zero calorie and zero sugar SplashH20 with its tantalizing flavors and it has no aspartame. Aspartame is a sweetener that’s found in sodas, in low-calorie powder drinks such as Crystal Light, and gum to name a few. It is said to have major carcinogenic side effects.

Did you know that according to experts drinking just two cups of water, which is smaller than the size of a bottled soda, before meals helps dieters lose an extra five pounds yearly and help you maintain your weight loss? Additionally drinking the right amount of water daily can actually speed up your metabolic rate and help to curb overeating when your body confuses hunger and thirst.

I have noticed a huge difference in my overall physical health and how I feel throughout the day from drinking more water (more flavored water) and I also when I try to have a soda now I take only a couple of drinks and don’t want it because it doesn’t taste good. So to find out how much water you should be drinking a day without exercise involved is to multiply your weight times 67%. When you are exercising then you should add 12 ounces of water to every 30 minute workout.

2. I chose to start drinking more water and I am more motivated to stay hydrated is because I started donating plasma for a good cause and a side benefit is I get paid to do it. Have you ever wanted to get paid $20/hr to sit and watch t.v.?

I would like to say transitioning from caffeine to water and volunteering for a great cause have been really great decisions. Donating pushed me to give up something that I had a hard time overcoming and breaking addiction. Volunteering period helps me in so many ways. What does anyone else like to do voluntarily on their spare time? Please comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

