Sprint Instead of Running a Marathon

This is how we as parents ring in the New Year. Kids playing on their tablets (monitored time of course), my daughter and I watching October Baby (a child approved heart wrench). I have never been much of one to go out and bring in the New Year. Maybe because I started my family at 17 years old but I have never missed not having the chance either.

I sat here reflecting on my past year. A year full of trials and tribulations, good and bad but even through all the roller coaster highs and lows I wanted to give the glory to God for being such an amazing father and for giving me such an amazing husband, family, friends and church family.

I always set New Year Resolutions but never follow through and then would justify later to why I never followed through. Now as a I read this book Fresh Elastic for Stretched Out Moms by Barbara Johnson I like how she says, “I hate to wait a whole year to try to mend a mistake, and find that when I put off changes, I don’t change at all.”

It got me thinking.

We do have a new set of 365 days every January but we also have a new day every day. As one day passes away a new day starts.

BEGIN AGAIN
Every day is a fresh beginning,
Every morn is the world made new.
You who are weary of sorrow and sinning
Here is a beautiful hope for you, ——
A hope for me and a hope for you.
Everyday is a fresh beginning;
Listen, my soul, to the glad refrain,
And, in spite of old sorrow and older sinning,
And puzzles forecasted and possible pain,
Take heart with the day, and begin again.
Susan Coolidge

I am not setting New Years Resolutions for the whole year but yet setting resolutions for every month or every couple of months. I have always found it’s easier for me to sprint (a couple of months) than to run a marathon (the whole year) and if I fail I pick myself up again, don’t give up, and keep on sprinting because every day is a new day. Progress, even baby steps, is progress.

January-February New Year’s Resolutions:
Expand our prayer group for the schools
Start exercising
Read my bible and pray more
Help my youngest learn to ride their bikes
Read two books
Volunteer more
Help others out (put someone before myself)
Forget those things which are behind and press forward.

I am so glad to be back after the blessed holidays. I hope every one had a great Christmas and a happy New Year. Do you set resolutions? If so, what are some of yours?

Leave a Reply

